« The Future of Workflow | Main | MultiBlog 2.0 Fundraiser »

Workflow on download.com?

It has come to my attention that Workflow is available for download on download.com (actually, it is listed twice). Normally, I suppose I would be flattered that some of my own software would appear on a site like that. That, however, is not the case in this situation for two important reasons.

  1. The version listed is woefully out of date (1.0.2)
  2. Most importantly, the license information given is vastly incorrect.

The site lists Workflow as having a free license without any limitations. That is very much not the case. While, yes, the plugin is free for personal users, commercial and non-profit/educational users need a license.

According to the statistics on download.com, Workflow has been downloaded from them over 300 times. Looking at the worst case scenario, in which every download would go to a commercial user who decided to use the plugin on their site(s), that would come out to about $82,000 of lost income for me. To take a more conservative approach, let's say that only 1 in every 100 downloads ended up on a commercial site for good, that's still $750.

While I am fairly certain that this was simply an honest mistake and no harm was intended, it is still pretty disconcerting. I am currently digging through download.com trying to find an email address or some kind of contact information so that I can get in touch with the right people who are able to either alter or remove the listing from the site.

Comments

Wow, big companies would probably raise a huge fuss about something like this. All I can find is the CNET forums; maybe someone there could direct you to the right place.

After checking, all I could find is an email address for the CNET Download.com Site Director - it's Kelly.Morrison@cnet.com

Hope things get fixed - it's a shame big companies don't exhibit the respect and ethical fortitude they demand from everyone else.

It's odd since someone would have had to submit your work. But they listed the publisher with the correct info.

Did you try here:

http://www.upload.com/1200-21_5-5148377.html?tag=help

"If you believe that a software product listed on CNET Download.com violates your copyrights"

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

Donations

Is Workflow helping you to run your site more effectively? Please consider making a donation towards its development.